International Union of Aesthetic Medicine


Aesthetic Medicine as a new field emerged in France in 1973, coinciding with the founding of the French Society of Aesthetic Medicine by Jean-Jacques Legrand, doctor of endocrinology in Paris.

This was soon followed by the creation of the Belgium Society promoted by the Belgian Michel Delune, dermatologist in Brussels (1974), the Italian Society created by Carlo Alberto Bartoletti, gerontologist and geriatrician in Rome (1975) and the Spanish Society, founded by Font-Riera, doctor of nutrition in Barcelona (1976).

In 1976 these four national societies founded the International Union of Aesthetic Medicine (UIME) based in Paris. Today, there are 29 international associations that are members of this union.

Their aim is to bring together worldwide, within a single scientific program, doctors and technicians of different specialties, but with a common interest in problems concerning aesthetic medicine.

The current Board of Directors of UIME (L'Union Internationale de Médecine Esthétique) is composed as follows:

Honorary Presidents:
M. DELUNE, U.S.A., J. FONT-RIERA ✝, Španjolska A. BOURRA, Maroko, C.A. BARTOLETTI ✝, Italija, R. PINTO, Argentina, G. MARZULO, Čile, J. Hebrant, Belgija, A. ELBAUM, Urugvaj, O. PANOVA, Rusija


Vice President:
V. GARCIA, Venezuela

General Secretary:
Emanuele Bartoletti, Italija

General Secretary added for American Continent:
R. PINTO, Argentina

Secretary-General added for Africa and Middle East:
A. BOURRA, Maroko

The UIME address is: 154, Rue Armand Silvestre – 92400 Courbevoie – France

Societies of UIME:

Want more information? Contact us!